Chalk talk


Greywolf Elementary School kindergarten teachers Aaron Reno, Patty Sullivan and Bethany Belhl took their classes to Sequim Bay State Park on June 16. Activities for the outing included hiking to the beach, observing the tide move out, looking under rocks, observing crabs and jellyfish, and enjoying sack lunches.

Registration is taking place for the 2010-2011 school year for all students eligible to enter school in the fall. In addition, if your child turns 5 before Aug. 31, you may register him or her now for kindergarten. Registration packets are available on the school district Web site at or in the school office during regular school hours.

First-graders from Emily Ellefson's and Stacy Hughes' classes visited the Sequim Library on June 10. They were given a tour of the facilities by librarian Patti Swingle, who also presented an overview of summer programs for children.

- Tricia Stratton, secretary


After a week's delay due to mechanical malfunction of the rented dunk tank, the long-awaited dunking of principal Vince Riccobene and school counselor Matt Duchow took place on a chilly, cloudy Tuesday, June 15. Top readers from each grade were given the opportunity to pitch softballs at the hair trigger target that sent the men (in wetsuits) into the drink. The dunking event was a culmination of the successful Accelerated Reading Program Challenge. Students celebrated reaching the goal of 24,000 Accelerated Reading points, actually attaining 26,350 points, which librarian Marsha Omdal translated into 14,536 books, containing 159,735,155 words that were read by the students!

Twenty-five students were treated to lunch for earning more than 200 points each. The school's top reader, fifth-grader Linda Rogers from Rachel Oden's class, with 760 points earned from reading 80 books, was treated to a ride to the lunch in a convertible.

- Marsha Omdal, librarian


The Science Department of Sequim Middle School would like to showcase the following students as "catalysts" for fourth quarter. These are students who consistently display an exceptional level of participation in their science class. They ask those thought-provoking questions that extend understanding. They clearly and accurately share their observations, both verbally and in writing. They are the sparks that ignite learning! So without further ado, let us recognize and celebrate these fine young scientists.

In sixth grade, teacher Meredith Johnson celebrates the accomplishments of Daniel Harker, Matthew Schock, Matthew Richardson and Veronica Hagerman.

Teacher Steve Koehler recognizes sixth-graders Alexis Cromer, Drew Crook, Colton Turner, Eric Hermosada, Thomas Winfield, Miranda Cays, Zarah Smith, Andrea Kienholz, Jonatan Gonzalez, Hazel McHenry, Alex Nielsen, Ben Hughes, Rylie Lindbergh, Andrea Kienholz, Jonatan Gonzalez, Natalia Azanza, Holly Eiland, Haley Mendizza, Rylie Roberts, Blynn Hughes, Alexander Mittman, Emma Eekhoff, Elton Li, Stone Diggs, Hunter Cauffman, Ian Houghton, Jason Springer, Alec Holland, Kaleigh Cassal, Harley Davidson, Madison Matthews and Chaela Cashman.

Teacher Joe Landoni tips his hat to seventh-graders Katey Tapia, Jake Roorda, Serena Hipple, Minh Doan, Austin Graham, Travis Robins, Halle Beck, Lauren Traczyk, Olivia Barrell and Noah Dinnerstein.

In eighth grade, teacher Debra Beckett applauds Audrey Barnes, Dylan Rice, Michael Bowden, Jaimee Montelius, Isaiah Dewan, Isaac Boyd and Hannah Hudson.

Additionally each eighth-grade teacher presented select students as "Catalysts of the Year" during the eighth-grade "Moving On" ceremony on Wednesday, June 16. Beckett singled out Alexandria Williams, David Torgersen, Sabrina Marunde and Taylor Gahr. Teacher Bryan Smelcer chose Matisen Anders, Royhon Agostine, Maggie Christie, Laurie Miller and Heidi Stallman.

Keep up the fantastic effort young scientists! You are excellent role models for your peers.

The Science Department also would like to recognize those fine students who find themselves "On-a-Roll." These students were able to boost their fourth-quarter grade at least 10 percentage points, sometimes more, from their third-quarter grade. Congratulations to:

Sixth-graders Mark Feeney, Kait-lyn Pratt, Joey Skolar, Jordan Cleveland, Rayann Hanson, Gretchen Happe, Haili Farnam, Ryan Hosvedt, David Kingsley, Andrea Kienholz, Jonatan Gonzalez, Natalia Azanza, Holly Eiland, Haley Mendizza, Rylie Roberts, Blynn Hughes, Alexander Mittman, Emma Eekhoff, Shaun Terry, Sarah McElhose, Isaiah Robbins and Robert Copeland.

Seventh-graders Joe Golbeck, Yulisa Precaido, Marley Zimmerman, Trevor Collins, Austin Graham, Brooklyn Small, Marina Briseno and Noah Dinnerstein. Eighth-graders: Alicia Bryant, Lavee Hess and Isaiah Dewan.

Keep on rolling, middle schoolers!

Last week, the students in Landoni's seventh-grade science classes took some time to reflect on their year together. After thoughtful consideration, students voted their most deserving colleagues for the following awards: The Catalyst of the Year Award (the person who sparked learning the most in their class), The Team Player Award (that individual who helped them experience the most success in a lab group) and The Most Improved Scientist Award (the person who they observed made the greatest personal improvement, academic or social, over the course of the year).

Catalyst of the Year Awards went to Katey Tapia, Katherine Landoni, Elise Beuke, Victoria Cummins and Lauren Traczyk. Team Player Awards went to Katie Schade, Kaitlyn Linklater, Cecilee Wech, Miguel Moroles and Ryan Root. Most Improved Scientist Awards went to Nathan Henning, Serena Hipple, Bailey Boyce, Martin Morales and Christian Salas.

If you know any of these fine, young scientists, be sure to congratulate them on a tremendous effort. In fact, all students are to be commended for making this a fine year of learning.

- Joe Landoni, teacher



First Teacher activities:

_ Friday, June 25 at 10 a.m. - Create a Story event

Families create storybooks about something they've done together, such as Thanksgiving dinner, a trip to the store or a family vacation. Children are welcome to participate and the playroom will be supervised. Light refreshments are served and each child receives a free book. This project is part of a statewide program aimed at enhancing the culture of family literacy.

_ Monday, June 28 at 10:30 a.m. - Reading Time. Guest reader is retired Sequim teacher Mary Crook. Each child attending Reading Time receives a free book.

Tuesday, June 22, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. - WIC (Women, Infants and Children). For more information about the WIC program, contact Pam Walker at 417-2275.

First Teacher continues to offer Monday Reading Times and Friday events throughout the summer. Located in Sequim Community School at 220 W. Alder St., next to the playground, there is no charge to visit the room. Parents may check out books from the parenting library and children can enjoy the playroom and playground. Sign up to receive the monthly newsletter with parenting tips and information about local resources for families. For more information on the First Teacher program, call 582-3428 or 681-2250.

- Patsene Dashiell, First Teacher events coordinator and Chase Hill, AmeriCorps volunteer

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates