Sequim schools honor retirees

          Sequim school superintendent Bill Bentley recalls memories of work-related incidents with recently retired secretary Loanna Torey. Torey worked in the Sequim School District for 31 years and was secretary to six superintendents during her career.   Retiring Sequim School District staffers this year include, from left, Loanna Torey, Lizz Loren, Dale Nesse, Cathy Raycraft, Rob Brooke, Carol Darby, Marla Varner, Gloria Ricketts and Daneen Pond. Not pictured is Gini Wuebold.  

Photos by Patsene Dashiell/Sequim School District 


 A reception was held in the Sequim High School library on Monday, June 20, to celebrate the newest group of retiring employees from the Sequim School District.


Ten staffers, who collectively have 186 years of teaching, counseling, administration and other experience in Sequim schools, are saying “so long.”


All past retirees were invited to attend, as well as all staff and board members. Each retiree was introduced by his or her administrator, and school board members John Bridge and Bev Horan, along with Sequim schools superintendent Bill Bentley, presented each with a commemorative plaque and purple polo-style T-shirt embroidered with the Sequim School District insignia.

When asked what advice they wished to leave for their co-workers, retiring Sequim High School teacher Dale Nesse said, “Keep on investing in kids — they are our most precious resource.”


Greywolf Elementary teacher Cathy Raycraft offered, “Love what you do. Be fair, firm and consistent and always let the children know how much you care about them.” Greywolf para-educator Lizz Loren stated, “Keep up the wonderful work you’re doing because all the effort does make a difference!”


The following staff members retired from the Sequim School District at the end of the 2010-2011 school year (listed by name, years of service and school/location):


Rob Brooke, 1973-1981, 1996-2011, SMS counselor; Carol Darby, 1983-2011, GWE para-educator; Lizz Loren, 2006-2011, GWE para-educator; Dale Nesse, 1998-2011, SHS German/Spanish teacher; Daneen Pond, 2006-2011, speech pathologist; Cathy Raycraft, 1986-2011, GWE second-grade teacher; Gloria Ricketts, 2000-2011, SMS counselor; Loanna Torey, 1979-2011, secretary to the superintendent; Marla Varner, 1977-2011, HHE second-grade teacher; Gini Wuebold, 1992-2011, GWE fine arts teacher.


* Note: GWE is Greywolf Elementary School; HHE is Helen Haller Elementary School; SMS is Sequim Middle School; SHS is Sequim High School.
We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates