Four area WSP employees honored

The Washington State Patrol officially recognized three troopers and an office staff member for outstanding efforts taken to support traffic safety in District 8, which includes Clallam, Jefferson, Kitsap, Mason, Grays Harbor, Pacific and Wahkiakum counties.

WSP recognized troopers Ken Ahrens, Grant Clark and Mark Dufour for extra efforts given toward several traffic safety factors in 2007, including driving while intoxicated, seat belt, speed and narcotic enforcement. The traffic safety efforts are being recognized as part of the Target Zero program, where state law enforcement officials plan to bring Washington vehicle-collision-related fatalities and disabling injuries down to zero by 2030.

Ahrens, Clark and Dufour are stationed in Clallam County. Ahrens received recognition for his speed limit enforcement and Clark and Dufour received seat belt enforcement commendations.

The professional staff employee of the year recognition went to Puri Heacock, of Port Angeles.

For more information on the Washington State Patrol or Target Zero, visit or call 360-478-4646 to reach District 8 of the Washington State Patrol.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates