One more encore

A grand finale for a whirlwind year.

Sequim High School’s group of musicians — Concert Band, Wind Ensemble, Percussion Ensemble and Jazz Band — capped a busy 2007-2008 school year with a concert for the hometown fans and parents June 10.

Director Vern Fosket led the collective in saying goodbye to 18 seniors and handed out numerous end-of-the-year awards, including the Richard Meyers Memorial Music Scholarship to Sequim senior percussionist Jon Bash.

Other SHS band awards include:

• John Philip Souza Award (chosen by students/Wind Ensemble): Daylee Joers

• Director’s Award/Wind Ensemble: Olivia Creasey

• Most Improved (Wind Ensemble): Stephanie Phipps

• Innovative Percussionist Award: Jon Bash

• Most Improved (Percussion Ensemble): Jon McHugh

• Louis Armstrong Award (chosen by students/Jazz Band):

Taylor Ackley

• Most Improved (Jazz Band): Ben Spray

• Woody Herman Award (director’s choice/Jazz Band): Bash

Before finishing the evening with a pair of sizzling jazz numbers with guest musician Craig Buhler, Fosket recounted a number of SHS band highlights from the year, including the biennial Disneyland trip and adjudication, a record number (17) of all-state musicians, Bash’s second-place performance at state in the multiple percussion division, a rather rainy parade experience in Victoria and the Jazz Band’s academic state championship.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates