State to honor Fairbanks

The state of Washington honors Officer Kristine Fairbanks, U.S. Forest Service, and other law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty and recognize officers who have given service beyond the call of duty at a special ceremony on May 8.

Gov. Christine Gregoire and Attorney General Rob McKenna will award six law enforcement officers this year's Medal of Honor, the state's highest law enforcement award.

The ceremony at 1 p.m. Friday at the Law Enforcement Memorial site on the Capitol campus in Olympia is open to the public. A catered reception follows in the Columbia Room in the Capitol building.

New names of officers killed in the line of duty engraved on the State Law Enforcement Memorial include:

Officer Kristine Fairbanks, U.S. Forest Service.

Sgt. Nelson Ng, Ellensburg Police Department;

Deputy Anne Jackson, Skagit County Sheriff's Office; and

The Medal of Honor will be awarded posthumously to Jackson and Fairbanks. Corporal Chris LeBlanc, Vancouver Police Department, will receive the award for serious injury. Officer John Key, Vancouver Police Department, Sgt. Scott Schanaker, Clark County Sheriff's Office and Deputy Scott Holmes, Clark County Sheriff's Office, will receive the award for meritorious conduct.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates