College officials honors students, staff at celebration

Peninsula College honored the accomplishments of students and staff at an end-of-year celebration at the school's student center on June 5.

Five college employees were recognized for going "Above

and Beyond" in the performance of their duties during the 2008-2009 academic year. Honorees include: Mike Edwards, Rob Gordeuk, Jan Isett, Janet Lucas and Andrea Motyka.

Thirty-eight college staff members were recognized for their years of service, including two retirees.

Full-time milestone anniversaries

35 years of service - Phil Adams, Vici McLaughlin

30 years of service - Bonnie Cauffman, Trisha Plute, Walt Sanwald, Fred Thompson, Pete Van Os

25 years - Sharon Baron, Jann Gardner

20 years - John Crawford

15 years - Bob Lawrence, Jeff Mauger, Larry Smith, Dan Stengel

10 years - Kristi Borchers, Mia Boster, Deanna Buchmann, Bruce Hattendorf, Ted Noel, Tamara Lidster, Janet Phipps, Dan Shea, Bob Sheldon, Apa Sunriver

Part-time anniversary milestones

25 years - Sue Lemay

20 years - Edna Bowlby, Dan McKeen, Sandra Schultz

10 years - Robin Amestoy, Larry Burtness, Diane Carriveau, Gail Frick, Carol Grady_MacRae, Kim McIrvin, Lydia Samperi, Judith Skogen


Two staff members were honored as they retire following the academic year. Faculty member Ken Jacobson and student services staff member Rosalie Kaune were feted for their years of service. Jacobson retired after 30 years of service and Kaune will be retiring June 30 after eight-and-a-half years at Peninsula College.

Buccaneer staff honored

Student staff members of the award-winning student newspaper The Buccaneer also were recognized. Felice Thompson, managing editor for several quarters, was recognized for receiving a Washington Newspaper Publishers Association scholarship. This summer, she will serve an internship at the Port Townsend Leader.

Two students were recognized for awards they received from the Washington Community College Journalism Association. Former student and staff member Jeremy Johnson, now a college employee, won second place in the association's photo essay competition for a piece he submitted on Vietnam. Current photo editor Marcus Como received a first-place award in news photography division from the journalism association.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates