News

Spring Fling supports River Center and park

The second annual Dungeness Spring Fling opens Saturday, May 1.

The monthlong fundraiser for the Dungeness River Audubon Center and Railroad Bridge Park, 2151 W. Hendrickson Road, involves walking, hiking, biking or birding. This year's goal is to raise $30,000. Participants ages 10-93 raised more than $22,000 last year.

Activities include:

Saturday, May 1: 1 p.m. World Labyrinth Day, "Walk as One;" 2 p.m. Discover Railroad Bridge Park

Tuesday, May 4: 8:30 a.m. Bird walk, Dungeness Recreation Area; 8:30 a.m. Hike, Camp Handy

Friday, May 7: 9 a.m. Walk, Robin Hill Farm Park

Sunday, May 9: 2 p.m. Walk, Railroad Bridge trestle and Olympic Discovery Trail

Tuesday, May 11: 8:30 a.m. Bird walk, Dungeness River dike; 8:30 a.m. Hike, Lower Graywolf River

Friday, May 14: 9 a.m. Hike, New Dungeness Light Station

Sunday, May 16: 2 p.m. Walk, Johnson Creek Trestle to Sequim Bay State Park

Tuesday, May 18: 8:30 a.m. Hike, Slab Camp Trail, then downstream on the Graywolf River

Friday, May 21: 9 a.m. Hike, Miller Peninsula

Sunday May 23: 2 p.m. Walk, Morse Creek trestle to the beach

Tuesday, May 25: 8:30 a.m. Hike, Deer Ridge; 8:30 a.m. Bird walk, Miller Peninsula

Friday May 28: 9 a.m. Hike, Salt Creek to Striped Peak

Saturday, June 5: 3-5 p.m. Spring Fling Frolic and awards at the Dungeness River Audubon Center at Railroad Bridge Park

More information and details about participating and/or sponsoring a Spring Fling team are on the River Center Web site at www.

dungenessrivercenter.org.









We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the latest Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Aug 27 edition online now. Browse the archives.