‘Over the Fence’ tops field at film festival

— image credit:
by Michael Dashiell
Sequim Gazette

What started off as a simple family film using a small Panasonic Lumix camera turned into an award winner.


Ranger helped, too.


Michael Cullinan and Ravi Carlson repeated as Best Picture winners and Pablo Van Renterghem’s film “Ranger” took home the fan’s choice award at the 2011 Sequim Education Foundation Film Festival Friday night.


Seniors Cullinan, Carlson and Dalton Ackley combined forces to create “Over the Fence — Outside the Law,” a mix of live-action and animation that clinched the judges’ votes. Last year, Carlson and Cullinan won with “The Summer Wind Came Killing In.”


Ackley took home the Best Actor award.


Carlson hopes to pursue his film career at New York University while Cullinan is going to pursue mechanical engineering at Oregon State University.


Megan McAndie won Best Actress for her role in “No Title” while Cameron and Kelley Bluthenthal won the Audubon Society Environmental Award for “JCL Salmon Recovery Project.”


Stealing the show, however, was Van Renterghem, an eighth-grade student at Olympic Peninsula Academy. The youth shot the film on a whim with Ranger, the family dog.


“I hadn’t really thought anything of it,” Van Renterghem said, but after encouragement from his mother Susanne Severeid Van Renterghem, he decided to enter it into the film festival. All he tweaked was a bit of the opening as an introduction.


Van Renterghem said he isn’t interested in being a filmmaker when he grows up, but “It’s fun to do, definitely.”


Van Renterghem’s movie won the “Elkie” award by cheers after the roaring crowd registered 103 decibels, just one decibel louder than  “The Predator’s Prey” by Aran Burke, Dorian Halverson and Brendon Hudson.


Other entries included “Outsiders,” by Carson Lewis, Jacob Lewis, Skyler Lewis and Torrie McIntyre; “Storm Weathered,” by Sarah Berkes, Joey Hall and Margaret Norlund; and “Sick Day,” by Jack McColl, Ted McColl and Ryan Tucker.


Twenty-two students participated in this year’s film festival.


Winning video production team members received both scholarship and cash prizes.


Judges for the 2011 event were Elaine Caldwell, Kathi Callahan, Jim Dries, Dave Estrem, Ron Farquhar, Bruce Hattendorf, Danielle Lawrence, Rebecca Redshaw, Sue Ellen Riesau, Lara Starcevich and Carol Yeargood.




We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates