Sheriff’s Office announces 2010 award winners

The Clallam County Sheriff’s Office held its 2010 Awards Recognition Dinner on Saturday, April 16. Administrative Coordinator Chris James received the Sheriff’s Office Employee of the Year Award, while Dan Abbott earned the Volunteer of the Year Award and Scott Erickson was named the Search and Rescue Volunteer of the Year.


Receiving the Sheriff’s Star in recognition of their outstanding performance during their career with the Sheriff’s Office were Corrections Sgt. Al Collins (retired), Civil Deputy Deb Everts, Administrative Sgt. Monty Martin (retired), Evidence Manager Annie Lowe and Sgt. Grant Lightfoot.


Several merit awards for meritorious service in duty involving great risk were given. Recipients of the award included Officer Grant Dennis of the Sequim Police Department, Sheriff’s Sgt. Nick Turner and Deputies Andrew Wagner, Matt Murphy, Mike Backes, Mark Millett and Jim McLaughlin.


Meritorious service awards are given to a member or nonmember of the department, for meritorious service in a duty of great responsibility. The award winners included Sgts. Lyman Moores and Randy Pieper; Deputies Ken Oien and Matt Murphy; Reserve Deputy Tom Doane; evidence managers Dave Munro and Dave Hull; Corrections Deputies John Beltrami and Wes Miner; community policing coordinator Lorraine Shore; fiscal specialist Karen Peterson; administrative specialist Karen Roberts; and volunteer Judy Hendrickson.     


Meritorious unit citation awards were given for meritorious service in a duty of great responsibility, in going above and beyond the team’s or section’s normal duty. Award winners included Corrections Sgt. Matt Blore, food service supervisor Tom Shumway, food service workers Peg Burris and John Alexander, and members of the Criminal Investigations Bureau, Detective Sgt. Lyman Moores and Detectives Tom Reyes, Stacy Sampson and John Hollis.  


Commendation awards are given to individuals, members. nonmembers or organizations for excellence in the performance of duty, excellence in a specific assigned duty or for improving conditions within the agency or community. This year’s recipients included KONP; PenCom communication officers Kylie Hafer, Karen Roedell and Karl Hatton; Applebee’s Restaurant; Deputy Shane Martin; Detective Jeff Waterhouse; Corrections Deputies Wes Miner, Eric Morris and Nate Pence; and volunteer Carol Jordan.



We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates