Planning department changes name

Sequim Gazette

The City of Sequim’s recent activities include a department name change, a remodel bid award, new members for the comprehensive plan committee and an honor for Mayor Ken Hays.

Planning Department name change

Councilors unanimously approved changing the city’s Planning Department name to the Department of Community Development in a 7-0 vote Monday, Aug. 22.


With the change, Planning Director Chris Hugo assumes the title of director of community development.

Hugo said the change better includes staff who perform current and long-term planning, development services and code compliance because in the department only 1.75 of five full-time employees are planners.


“We don’t exist to plan. We exist to help make the community a better place,” Hugo told the Gazette. “The title denotes what we’re about better.”


He looked at local governments in Western Washington and found most do not have a planning department but a department of community development or a similar name.
Hugo said staff responsibilities and pay do not change.

City Hall remodel bid approved

Maple View Enterprises won the bid to remodel the City of Sequim’s City Hall, 152 W. Cedar St. In July, councilors approved up to $50,000 from the capital facilities fund to create more office space, a conference room and a break area in the building.


On Monday, the council voted 7-0 for Maple View’s bid, the lowest of four bids at just over $38,500.


Jeff Edwards, public works office/parks manager, said the move brings three staff back into City Hall from offices in Suite 17 next to the Sequim Police Department.


He said bids came in lower than expected and he’s confident Maple View will do a good job because it’s done work for the city before.


Mayor Pro-Tem Laura Dubois made a suggestion that the city look into an additional cost for installing an ADA-compliant front door.

Comprehensive plan committee formed

Five citizens now make up half of the city’s comprehensive plan steering committee to help direct the 18-month project. The committee consists of city residents Bob Anundson, Eric Egnew, Nancy Goldstien and Gary Kispert and county resident Andrew Shogren. They join planning commission members Bill Sterhan and Jon Wendt and Mayor Ken Hays and councilors Bill Huizinga and Erik Erichsen.


Councilor Ted Miller, Dubois and Hugo interviewed 13 candidates. Originally, 18 applied but two withdrew and three didn’t make their appointments. Five of the candidates lived inside the city limits.

Mayor honored

Hays recently received a certificate of Municipal Leadership from the Association of Washington Cities after completing more than 30 hours of training credits. He attended a variety of workshops on essentials of municipal service and how to improve his ability to work with council colleagues, city staff and citizens.

The program is designed to enhance the ability of elected municipal officials by providing knowledge and skills to effectively operate within the law, plan for the future, secure and manage funds and foster community and staff relationships.


In the 1990s, Hays served on the Sequim Planning Commission and city residents voted him onto the city council in 2008. He became mayor in 2010.


Contact the City of Sequim, 152 W. Cedar St., at 683-4139 or visit


Reach Matthew Nash at


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates