Law officials honor ‘Officers of the Year’

— image credit:
Sequim Gazette staff

Detective Paul Dailidenas is Sequim’s Police Officer of the Year.


Dailidenas was one of 14 officers honored by the Sequim chapter of the International Footprint Association. “Footprinters” is a nonprofit that promotes and encourages fellowship, respect, cooperation and helpfulness among all arms of law enforcement.


Sequim Police Chief Bill Dickinson presented the award to Dailidenas. He said Dailidenas was given the honor by the supervisory staff of the Sequim Police Department “in recognition of his selfless commitment to the department’s mission and his consistently superior performance.”


Dickinson cited Dailidenas’s involvement in the follow-up to the explosion of a 38-foot yacht that was moored at John Wayne Marina. “With much of the physical evidence under 20 feet of water, Detective Dailidenas coordinated with the Clallam County Sheriff’s Office, the U.S. Coast Guard, the Port of Port Angeles authorities, and private insurance investigators to determine the cause of the explosion,” Dickinson said.


Dickinson said that required developing new investigative skills — “skills not commonly possessed by most officers.”


“Detective Dailidenas continuously demonstrates that he is one of the most conscientious and dependable officers in the Sequim Police Department, accepting and executing all assignments with equal commitment, dedication, and enthusiasm.”


Honors go all around

Following the May 13 awards ceremony at the Sequim Elks Lodge, the 14 “Officers of the Year” honored by the Footprinters gathered for a photo.


Footprinters president Don Taylor called the evening “just another way that we as Footprinters can show our appreciation for your service to our community.”


Each officer of the year received the award from a superior officer.


The group photo (above) includes Sequim Police Chief Bill Dickinson and Police Detective Paul Dailidenas; Clallam County Sheriff Bill Benedict and Sgt. Nick Turner; Port Angeles Police Chief Terry Gallagher and Cpl. Kevin Miller; Forks Police Chief Rick Bart and Officer Brandon Leask; Port Angeles Fire Department Chief Ken Dubuc and Capt. Terry Reid (not pictured); Clallam County Fire District 2 Chief Sam Phillips and Lt.Troy Tisdale (not in picture); Clallam County Fire District 3 Chief Steve Vogel and Firefighter Kjel Skov; Clallam County Fire District 4 Chief Alex Baker and Assistant Fire Chief Mike Hazelette; Washington State Patrol Lt. Keith Trowbridge and Trooper Allen Nelson.


Also, Border Patrol Supervisory Agent Jonathan White and Agent Jeffery Sterr; Clallam Bay Corrections Center Superintendent Mike Obenland and Correctional Officer 2 Lawrence Adamire (not pictured); Coast Guard Bosun’s Mate Seth Hunt and MK1 Catherine Kavanaugh; Elwha Klallam Police Department Chief Rodney Charles and Officer Lloyd Lee; and National Park Service District Ranger Mark O’Neill and Ranger Jennifer Jackson.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates