McAleer, incumbents are big winners

— image credit:

The votes are in, and they've been counted.


Or at least, most of them have.


Clallam County Auditor Patty Rosand said this morning, Tuesday, Nov. 5, her office received 4,030 ballots, bringing the total to 19,380. That's a "return rate" of 41.53 percent, she said.


Additional ballots received by her office through Friday, Nov. 8, will be added to today's totals, with the final results to be announced that evening.

Rosand released the following results at a little after 8 p.m. this evening:

Port of Port Angeles


Colleen McAleer, the Port's current Director of Business Development, appears to be on her way to a decisive victory in the campaign for the Commission District 1 seat. She picked up 8,606 votes — just shy of two-thirds of the votes counted. McAleer has said that if she is elected, she will resign her position with the Port.

Del DelaBarre, who finished in second place in the primary, picked up 4,757 votes.


The incumbent, Paul McHugh, was defeated in the primary.


Voters were also asked to decide on two propositions regarding the Port Commission. Proposition 1 called for increasing the number of Port Commissioners from three to five.  It was rejected by voters 8,411 to 5,708.


Proposition 2 called for reducing the terms of commissioners from six years to four. It was supported by an overwhelming number of voters, with 87.14 percent saying yes.

Sequim City Council


With 740 votes, incumbent Ted Miller will almost certainly keep his seat on the Sequim City Council, besting challenger Brandon Janisse, who tallied 446 votes. The two were battling for Council Position No. 3.


Dennis Smith, running unopposed for Council Position No. 4, picked up 100 percent of the vote, as did incumbent Genaveve Starr, who was also unchallenged. She retains Position No. 5 on the council.

Sequim School District


Newcomer Michael Howe was unchallenged in his bid for Sequim School District Director District 2 seat.

While John Clark Yeo's name remained on the ballot for the Sequim School District Director at Large position, he had repeatedly declared his intention to drop out of the race. Beverly Horan, an incumbent, easily recaptured her seat with just less than 75 percent of the 4,918 votes cast in the race.

Fire District 3
Incumbent James D. Barnfather faced off with Sean Ryan in a surprisingly energetic race for Fire District 3 Commissioner No. 3 seat. In the end, Barnfather picked up 4,195 Clallam County votes, providing a large margin over Ryan, with 2,361 votes.



In the race for the Park/Recreation (SARC) District 1 Commissioner Position No. 2 race, incumbent Frank Pickering bested newcomer Adam Sullivan. Pickering received 3,052 votes to Sullivan's 2,034.
Sherry Nagel was unopposed in her bid for the Position No. 1 seat.
We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates