Wolves named to all-league teams


Despite ending the season with an injured ankle, Sequim high senior Kai Antrim was named to the all-Olympic League first team last week.

Antrim, who finished the season with 12 goals, scored 40 in his prep career, a Sequim High School record.

Teammate and fellow SHS senior Jeff Catton was named to the league's all-second team. Catton finished with 24 lifetime assists, second in SHS history behind Vann Brasher's 25.

Sequim midfielder Greg Dunbar joins Sequim defenders Keller Batson and Austin Sanford on the all-league honorable mention list.

The Kingston Buccaneers, who won the Olympic League soccer title, saw defender John Troka earn MVP honors and Craig Smith win coach of the year.


The Wolves carried some honors into the district playoffs.

Senior slugger Yolanda Chinn was named to the all-league first team while classmate Carly Swingle was named to the all-league second team as a pitcher, two of four Wolves to garner postseason honors.

Freshmen shortstop/catcher Maddy Zbaraschuk and infielder Lea Hopson were named all-league honorable mentions.

Chinn hit .406 with two doubles, a triple, three home runs and five RBIs to earn her second consecutive pace on the Olympic League first team. She was named an all-league second-teamer as a sophomore.

In 95 innings, Swingle struck out 85 batters and walked 24, posting a 1.93 earned run average. She gave up just 56 hits and chalked up a 9-7 regular season record. Swingle was named to the all-league first team in 2006 and 2007.

Zbaraschuk led the Wolves with a .501 batting average and 15 RBIs, hitting four home runs and a triple at the plate. Hopson had one triple and two home runs to go with her five RBIs and .326 batting average.

Pitchers Ali Rae of Port Angeles and Katelyn Stanley of North Mason shared most valuable player honors while Stanley's Bulldogs won the most all-league first team nominations (four) and overall nominations (eight).

Port Angeles saw four players named to the all-league team: Rae, infielder Miranda Pitz and catcher Molly Ward on the first team and Colleen Cary as honorable mention.

Port Angeles' Roughriders also were awarded the league sportsmanship award.


On the all-Olympic League baseball team, Sequim has home and first base covered.

Senior catcher Ben Grubb and junior first baseman Spencer Middleton were named to the all-league first team last week, joined by teammates Max Royall (senior, second team), Jonathan Thom (senior, honorable mention) and Drew Rickerson (freshman, honorable mention).

Grubb, who was an all-league second team selection in 2007, hit .414 and led the Wolves with 23 runs scored, four triples, 14 steals (in 16 attempts), 40 total bases, an on-base-percentage of .563 and slugging average of .690. He also had the top ERA of any Sequim pitcher (1.64) in his 21 1/3 innings of work.

Middleton hit .339, had 13 RBIs and tied Grubb for the team lead with two home runs. On the mound he had a 3.10 ERA and held opponents to a team-best .227 batting average.

Royall, an all-league honorable mention last year, led Sequim in multiple offensive categories this spring as an outfielder, including batting average (.431), hits (28), doubles (six) and RBIs (23). He was nearly as solid on the mound, leading Sequim in innings pitched (32) and tied in strikeouts (32). He held opponents to a .246 average while racking up a 3.28 ERA.

Thom, a third baseman, hit .400 and tied Grubb for second on the team with 24 base hits. He had a .500 on-base percentage and had 11 RBIs.

Rickerson, an outfielder, was called up to varsity just before spring break. He hit .390 in limited time, slugging .634, second on the team. Rickerson had six extra-base hits drove in 11 runs in 16 games.

Port Angeles' Eric Lane was named league Most Valuable Player while Klahowya had the most first team players (three) and all-league awards (nine). Port Townsend won the team sportsmanship award while Kingston's Scott McCray and Olympic's Nate Andrews shared Coach of the Year honors.

Other Port Angeles players on the all-league team include Don Defrang (first team), Danny Romero, Nick Lavin and Mikey Marvelle (second team) and Jake Madison (honorable mention).
We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates