Wolfpup squad wins 'Gridiron Classic'

These purple-and-gold footballers were all gold on Sunday.

Sequim's combined junior varsity Wolfpups squad topped the previously undefeated Timberline Blazers (8-0) by a final score of 25-12, winning the 2009 Gridiron Classic in Auburn on Nov. 29.

The "Classic" took place during the four-day Thanksgiving holiday, as teams from as far away as Alaska competed in the tourney's six divisions.

On Nov. 27, Sequim's 'Pups squared off against the Pasco Bullpups, winning 40-13 to earn a berth in the finals. Timberline beat the Enumclaw Hornets 19-12 in the other semifinal.

Team members are Beau Bernsten, Noah Christianson, Drew Crook, Bailey Early, Nick Faunce, Michael Larson, Brenden Lauritzen, Dylan Lott, Forrest Page, Alec Richardson, Preston Richardson, Ethan Richmond, Jacob Sallee, Matthew Schock, Joel Small, James Thayer, Jacob Torrey and Kevyn Ward.

Coaches are Rex Lott, Sean Torrey, Jay Earley and Rod Schock.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates