Timberwolves finish strong 2009-2010 seasons

If Sequim Middle School's boys basketball seasons are any indication, the future of Sequim High hoops is in good hands.

Sequim's Timberwolf squads enjoyed another

strong winter season of basketball, with a combined 17-9 record among the three squads and the seventh-grade varsity taking home a share of the Olympic League title.

The squads enjoyed an end-of-season party on Jan. 29, honoring players with certificates and postseason awards, plus some scrimmaging where they showed off their court dominance to some outmatched parents.

Eighth-grade stars

Sequim's eighth-grade varsity squad racked up a 6-4 record, with sweeps of Stevens Blue (Port Angeles), Forks and Chimacum. Their losses came to Stevens White and Port Townsend.

Earning the team's Most Valuable Player award was Jesse Francis, who scored 6.8 points per game, helping the T-Wolves outscore opponents by an average of more than five points per contest (39.1 to 33.9).

Mike Holland earned the Most Improved award while Anthony Pinza, the team's leading scorer at 10 points per game, earned the Inspirational Leader award. Royhon Agostine was honored with the Coaches' award.

Seventh-grade stars

With a 33-28 win against Forks on Jan. 25, Sequim's seventh-grade squad earned a share of the league championship.

For his efforts, Alex Barry was named team MVP. The youth led the team in points (17.3 per game), field goal percentage (53 percent), free throw percentage (62 percent), assists (4.5 per game) and steals (5.1 per game), and was second overall in rebounds (7.6 per game) and blocks.

Jerry Bryant earned the team's Most Improved award. He was fifth on the team with 3.4 rebounds per contest.

Jake Smith earned the Inspirational Leader award. He was fourth on the team with 1.6 steals per game.

Josh Conomos took home the Coaches' award. He led the team in rebounding (91 total rebounds), was second in steals (2.9 per game) and scoring (6.5 points per game).

JV squad stars

Sequim's combined seventh- and eighth-grade junior varsity team finished with a 2-4 mark. Team members are seventh-graders Josiah Anastasi, Travis Gaumond, Collin Haupt, Cody Jones, Nick Kalen, Alex Law, Anthony Lelle, Nate Nelson, Ian Quast, Parker Rossi, Alex Rutherford and Anthony Villella, along with eighth-graders Kevin Cassal, Rilee Hazard, Ryan Hoekman and Austin Sampson.

SMS boys basketball

2009-2010 records

Eighth-grade varsity: 6-4

Seventh-grade varsity: 9-1

7th-/8th-grade junior varsity: 2-4

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates