P.C. honors top student-athletes

Brent Ricigliano, Dena Houser, Bryce Jacobson and Colleen Murphy-Carey were named Peninsula College's top athletes for 2008-2009.

The students were recognized for their achievements at the June meeting of the Peninsula College board of trustees.

The four athletes, one from each sport, were chosen for outstanding leadership, sportsmanship, citizenship, academic achievement and athletic ability. The awards are named for Peninsula College administrators who were instrumental in the history of a particular sport at the college.

Ricigliano, of Port Orchard, received the Wally Sigmar Award for men's soccer. He was selected for his talent, hard work and positive attitude.

Houser, of Boulder City, Nev., was the recipient of the Art Feiro Award for women's basketball. She was recognized for her important

leadership role with a young basketball team, her hard work and for being a team player.

Jacobson, of Palmer, Alaska, was awarded the Art Feiro Award for men's basketball. Johnson was cited for his athleticism, positive attitude and participation in student government and the intramural program.

Murphy-Carey, of Port Angeles, received the Jim Lunt Award for women's softball. An excellent ballplayer both offensively and defensively, she was honored for her strong leadership both in softball and on campus as well as in the community. She is a member of the 2010 Washington All-Academic team and a member of the NWAACC All-Academic Team.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates