Hinton, Webb highlight Sequim’s all-league picks

Sequim Gazette staff

Here’s a quick rundown of Sequim’s Olympic League winter sports postseason awards:


One finished his prep career near the top of the medal stand, while the other got her first peek at the best in the state.


Sequim senior Dakota Hinton and freshman Kaylee Ditlefsen were named to the All-Olympic League team last week following the 2011-2012 prep season that saw both grapplers earn state tourney berths.

Hinton went 37-6 and took third place in the 170-pound weight class at the 2A finals.


In her first season, Ditlefsen was a subdistrict tourney champion and took third at regionals before dropping a pair of decisions at the state tourney.


The league named three MVPs for the season: state champions Cody Yeik of Olympic (132 pounds), North Kitsap’s Jake Velarde (138) and Kingston’s Bobby Reece (152).


Port Angeles had three wrestlers named all-leaguers: freshman Brady Anderson (106 pounds), junior Brian Cristion (182) and junior Kim Littlejohn (girls 155).


The Roughriders, led by head coach Erik Gonzalez, earned the league’s Coaching Staff of the Year award.


Port Townsend took home the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Boys basketball

Corbin Webb didn’t end his prep career at the state tourney but he did earn some respect from Olympic League coaches.


The Sequim senior guard was named to the All-Olympic League first team and junior teammates Jayson Brocklesby and Gabe Carter were named to the second team following the league’s postseason meeting last week.


Sequim teammate Evan Hill, a senior, was named an honorable mention.


Webb averaged 16.2 points per game during the regular season to lead Sequim.


Brocklesby was second on the team with 14 points per contest and added 5.6 rebounds and 1.9 steals per game.


Carter led Sequim in rebounding (8.3 per game), assists (5.3) and steals (2.0), and was third in scoring at 12.8 points per contest. He also was the Wolves’ top 3-point shooter, hitting just under 40 percent of his threes.


Hill led the team in free-throw shooting (82 percent) and was second on the team with 48 assists (2.4 per game). He finishes as Sequim High’s all-time leader in free-throw shooting and charges taken.


Kingston took home the Olympic League title and its top awards.


Post Sam Byers won the league MVP award while the Buccaneers’ Blake Conley took home Coach of the Year.


Port Townsend earned the league’s Team Sportsmanship award.


First team — Webb (Sequim); Hayden McCartney (Port Angeles); Trent Gallagher, Quentin Phillips (Olympic); K.T. Deam (Kingston); Clark Rose (Klahowya)
Second Team — Brocklesby, Carter (Sequim); Andrew Shadle, Marshall Stevens (Bremerton); Richie Sander (Kingston)
Honorable mention — Hill (Sequim); Cameron Braithwate, Keenan Walker (PA); Cody Combs (Kingston); C.J. Encomienda (Olympic); Tim Pounds, Mikey Lawrence (Bremerton); Kyle Kelly (Port Townsend); Anthony Price (North Mason); Mitch Flowers, Josh Ganowski (Klahowya)

Girls basketball

Sequim’s Wolves (3-13 in league play, 5-15 overall) were shut out of all-league honors this season, with no players named to the All-Olympic League first team, second team or as honorable mentions.


Despite having a worse record than Sequim, North Mason had two players (Jennifer Hicks and Julie Johnson) named all-league honorable mentions.


Port Angeles’ Kiah Jones was named the league MVP while her coach, Michael Poindexter, was named Coach of the Year.


The Roughriders also had Krista Johnson named to the all-league second team and a quartet of Riders — Mariah Frazier, Madison Hinrichs, Kathryn Moseley and Paxton Rodocker — as honorable mentions.

Olympic’s Trojans earned the league Sportsmanship Award.


First team — Jalen Carpenter, Kourtney Carpenter (Bremerton); Jalyn Halstead, Ashli Payne (Olympic); Amanda Carper (Kingston)


Second team — Johnson (PA); Sawyer Kluge (Bremerton); Savannah Quitevis (Olympic); Sarah Baugh, Indigo Williams (North Kitsap); Kiley Maag (Port Townsend)


Honorable mentions — Frazier, Hinrichs, Moseley, Rodocker (PA); Lindsey Wicklein, Katelyn Carper (Kingston); Lexi Simmons (North Kitsap); Kori Holt, Tracy Landrum, Elise Peterson (Klahowya); Hicks, Johnson (North Mason); Irina Lyons (Port Townsend).
We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates