Sixkiller and Company pick up the win

Sonny Sixkiller, center facing camera, meets the press before teeing off in his namesake tournament Friday, July 27. Team Sixkiller took first place in the tournament, topping the field of 36 teams. Sequim Gazette photos by Mark Couhig


Former Husky quarterback Sonny Sixkiller and four Port Angeles golfers are the champions of the second annual Sonny Sixkiller Husky Celebrity Golf Classic.


The four — Rob Botero, Mike Dupuis, Gerald Petersen and Gary Thorne — joined Sixkiller in nailing down a 57. They picked up the win in a playoff.


More important, the event, held at The Cedars at Dungeness golf course on Friday, July 27, brought in more than $50,000 to support the Olympic Medical Center Foundation. Bruce Skinner, executive director of the foundation, said the event was “sold out” with 180 players forming 36 teams.


Skinner said the annual tournament was largely Sixkiller’s idea. “He wanted to do something for the foundation,” he said. “This is the result.”


Among the celebrities on hand were Don James, the most successful coach in Husky history, and Robb Weller, a former Husky yell leader and the first host of “Entertainment Tonight.” Skinner said Weller’s contributions to college football include what is now a common sight at games across the country. “He invented the wave,” he said.


A number of former famous Husky athletes also participated, including Rafael Stone, Jeff Jaeger, Bob Schloredt, Greg Lewis, Michael Jackson, Nesby Glasgow, Marques Tuiasosopo and Al Worley.


Former Port Angeles High School player Scott Jones, the only Roughrider to have played in the NFL, also joined in.

Jeff Lindsey, head pro at the course, said the tournament was a “Florida Scramble.” In this twist on the classic scramble, the person whose shot is selected must sit out the next shot. “That way there’s only four playing at a time,” he said.


Lindsey called it “an amazing day.”


“Not the best weather, but we enjoyed it.”


The presenting tournament sponsor was Wilder Auto Center.


For more information about the Olympic Medical Center Foundation, call 417-7144.



 And the winners are:

  • 5th place, 59, Bob MacDonald, Joe Marvelle, Joe Luce, John Reed and Dew Willard
  • 4th place, 58, Cam Cleeland, Mike Abercrombie, Tim Lewis, Mark Macomber, Scott Schmitz
  • 3rd place, 58, George Irvine, Gabe Rygaard, Ryan Sieler, Craig Sotebeer, Jeff Sparks
  • 2nd place, 57, Ray Pinney, Don Gillis, Jeff Gillis, Nik Krastins, Greg Madaleno
  • 1st place, 57, (playoff) Sonny Sixkiller, Rob Botero, Mike Dupuis, Gerald Petersen, Gary Thorne
We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates