Sequim Library manager Emily Sly. Photo courtesy of North Olympic Library System

Sequim Library manager Emily Sly. Photo courtesy of North Olympic Library System

Off the Shelf: Celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month

Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from Sept. 15-Oct. 15. The recognition started in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period.

To celebrate, NOLS is offering a virtual opportunity to learn to make Colombian empanadas with Sequim resident Carlos Osorio, an accomplished chef and baker. Trained at the Culinary Institute of America, Carlos now teaches baking at the Clallam Bay Corrections Center. Watch a video of Carlos in the kitchen and download his recipe for empanadas at nols.org/nols-events.

Stop by the library to let staff know how your empanadas turned out! Simple and delicious!

To learn more about Hispanic heritage, check out one of these books available at NOLS.

“Juana and Lucas” by Juana Medina

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated series. Hilarious, energetic, and utterly relatable, Juana will win over los corazones (the hearts) of readers everywhere. — From the publisher

“Charlie Hernández & The League of Shadows” by Ryan Calejo

The Lightning Thief meets the Story Thieves series in this middle grade fantasy inspired by Hispanic folklore, legends, and myths from the Iberian Peninsula and Central and South America. — From the publisher

“Furia” by Yamile Saied Méndez

A powerful young adult book for fans of “The Poet X” and “I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter,” set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line — even her blooming love story — to follow her dreams. — From the publisher

“The House of Broken Angels” by Luis Alberto Urrea

In this “raucous, moving, and necessary” story (San Francisco Chronicle) by a Pulitzer Prize finalist, the De La Cruzes family, on the Mexican-American border, celebrate two of their most beloved relatives during a joyous and bittersweet weekend. — From the publisher

Some books are even available in both English and Spanish at NOLS, like “Windows,” a picture book by Julia Denos; the Spanish translation is titled “Ventanas.”

Walking his dog at dusk, one boy catches glimpses of the lives around him in this lovely ode to autumn evenings, exploring your neighborhood, and coming home. — From the publisher

And more …

NOLS also offers a Spanish Language collection with more than 1,200 books and DVDs available for checkout. Visit nols.org to access the catalog. Select español in “format” for a list of all Spanish Language materials.

You can browse the collection in person, when visiting NOLS libraries in Port Angeles, Forks and Clallam Bay. Because of current space constraints at the Sequim branch, however, Spanish Language materials are only available by placing a hold to pick up a specific title.

Getting a library card is free and provides access to all of the library’s resources! To sign up, bring your ID to the Sequim Library, 630 N. Sequim Ave., and your friendly library staff will get you set up.

For more information, visit nols.org or call 360-683-1161.

Emily Sly is the Sequim Library manager.

More in Life

tsr
PC to host panel detailing ‘Careers in Communications’

A league of extraordinary women will reunite over the airwaves Wednesday, Oct.… Continue reading

All IN Film Fest goes virtual with Friday, Saturday screenings

The free inaugural All IN Film Fest, a collaborative project between Peninsula… Continue reading

tsr
Veterans Corner: Preparations for the holidays!

I am sad to report that there will be no Veterans Day… Continue reading

tsr
‘Gone but not forgotten’: Sequim club using modern Methods to Honor the dead

“George is gone but not forgotten,” reads the inscription on George W.… Continue reading

Volunteers sought for TAX-AIDE program

AARP TAX-AIDE is looking for new volunteers to prepare federal income tax… Continue reading

TEASER
Halloween returns for Sequim

Drive-through, outdoor events held

Parenting In focus: Your little chef and tiny gardener

We have learned how much children change when they grow vegetables or… Continue reading

Learn about invasive insects at next Green Thumbs session

Get an update on invasive insects that may be in our area… Continue reading

Get It Growing: Four key principles of proper watering

Misunderstanding what is meant by proper watering is one of the most… Continue reading

Most Read