Port Angeles High students set to stage ‘Peter and the Starcatcher’

In April, Port Angeles High School presents “Peter and the Starcatcher” in six performances on the Performing Arts Center stage at Port Angeles High School, 304 E. Park Ave.

Evening performance dates are April 12, 13, 19 and 20 at 7 p.m., and matinee performances are April 14 and 21 at 2 p.m.

“Peter and the Starcatcher” is a play based on the 2004 novel “Peter and the Starcatchers” by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson, and adapted for the stage by Rick Elice.

The play premiered on Broadway in 2012 and won nine Tony Awards, including the top award for Best Play.

Special guest director is Anna Andersen (Artistic Director for Port Angeles Fine Arts Center and Clallam Mosiac).

Anderson asks, “What is the magic that transforms our world and brings our dreams to life? If we found a trunk full of star stuff, how would we put it to use? For young theater participants everywhere, the answer is easy. Star stuff is imagination, and we will use it, along with our theatrical ingenuity, to make the world a little bit richer.”

The play includes music but is not a full-fledged musical as last fall’s “Little Shop of Horrors.” Musical numbers are directed by PAHS senior Madelynne Jones.

Set design is by PAHS art instructor Shawne Johnson and PAHS art students.

Technical direction is provided by Patric McInnes, PAHS theatre technology instructor, and the production is produced by PAHS English instructor Kelly Lovall-Jones.

Ticket prices are $10 for general admission, $8 for students. Admission is free for children ages 8 and younger. General seating tickets may be purchased at the door; doors open 30 minutes before showtime.

Premium seating tickets may be purchased in advance from PAHS drama students or at Port Book and News, Northwest Fudge & Confections and Odyssey Book Store.

Concession items will be available for sale at all performances. Special treats will be available for sale at the Easter Sunday matinee (April 21).

Cast and crew include: Joelynne Jewel (12th Grade), Charlotte Hertel (12th Grade), Simon Close (11th Grade), Cole Walsh (11th Grade), Stephen Kaufmann (12th Grade), Branna Schafer-Murphy (10th Grade), Samantha Rueda (12th Grade), Samantha Weinert (11th Grade), Lynn Childers (11th Grade), Isabella Vollmer (9th Grade), Avery Saul (9th Grade), Hunter Cassinelli (9th Grade), Isabelle Cottam (12th Grade), Maddie Montana (10th Grade), Talia Anderson (10th Grade), Charles Krause (12th Grade), Rylan MacDonald (12th Grade), Jasmine Cottam (12th Grade), AnLi Guttormsen (12th Grade), Rihanna Stockdale (11th Grade), Madelynne Jones (12th Grade), Ruby Harris (11th Grade), Sophia Orth (10th Grade), Amelie Atwater (11th Grade), Riley Baerman (11th Grade), Xoe Davis (9th Grade), Ed Lester (12th Grade), Isaac Calhoun (9th Grade), Olivia Wray (9th Grade), Victoria Tyler (9th Grade), Leia Kenton (9th Grade), Zephie Waldron (10th Grade), Dylan Hoffman (9 th Grade), Ashley Hernandez (12th Grade), Xavion Mason (9th Grade), Ryon Miller (9th Grade), Sophie Houston (12th Grade), Keanu Armitage (11th Grade), Garrett Kays (9th Grade), Zach Perry (10th Grade), Christian Eastman (10th Grade), Elise Dean (10th Grade) and Karter Galland (9th Grade).