‘You Are’ is the one at SEF Film Fest

Hutchison takes top honor, Witherell wins Elkie award

  • Wednesday, April 23, 2014 12:26pm
  • Life
Nearly 30 students in 15 film entries compete for top honors and scholarship money at the 2014 SEF Film Festival on April 18.

Nearly 30 students in 15 film entries compete for top honors and scholarship money at the 2014 SEF Film Festival on April 18.

Comedies and dramas, documentaries and action/adventure — this year’s Sequim Education Foundation Film Festival seemed to have it all.

Sequim High School senior Sarah Hutchison walked away with the festival’s top award and fellow senior Aaron Witherell earned the People’s Choice Elkie award at the ninth annual fest on Friday evening, April 18.

Hutchison’s documentary “You Are” featured 30-plus Sequim students talking about their insecurities and the voices they play out in their mind, dubbed a “mental heckler.”

Witherell, whose film “My Backyard” also earned second place overall, put on display his sporting activities across the Olympic Peninsula, from surfing to snowboarding to wakesurfing.

Nicholas D’ Amico, a sixth-grade student at Sequim Middle School, took home the film festival’s first School Spirit Award for “Mrs. Morrison’s 1st Period Science.”

Hutchison won a $1,000 scholarship for her effort, Witherell a $750 scholarship for second place and both teams that tied for third place — Megan McAndie, Tenille Tosland and Michael Gufler for “The Banks of Iron Mountain” and Cameron and Kelley Bluthenthal for “Instant Water” — each was warded $500.

The foundation raises the money through private donations. See sequimed.org.


SEF Film Fest winners

First place — Sarah Hutchison, “You Are”

Second place — Aaron Witherell, “My Backyard”

Third place (tie) — Megan McAndie, Tenille Tosland and Michael Gufler, “The Banks of Iron Mountain”

Third place (tie) — Cameron and Kelley Bluthenthal, “Instant Water”

People’s Choice (Elkie) — Aaron Witherell, “My Backyard”

Best Actor: Cameron Bluthenthal

Best Actress: Jaden Rego

School Spirit Award — Nicholas D’Amico, “Mrs. Morrison’s 1st Period Science”

Environmental Award — Grace Koenigsaecker, “Coral Bleaching”

Environmental Award, honorable mention — Cameron and Kelley Bluthenthal, “Instant Water”

Port Townsend Film Festival Award/Pass — Damon Little

Raffle winner (computer tablet) — Grace Koenigsaecker


More in Life

PC to host panel detailing ‘Careers in Communications’

A league of extraordinary women will reunite over the airwaves Wednesday, Oct.… Continue reading

All IN Film Fest goes virtual with Friday, Saturday screenings

The free inaugural All IN Film Fest, a collaborative project between Peninsula… Continue reading

Veterans Corner: Preparations for the holidays!

I am sad to report that there will be no Veterans Day… Continue reading

‘Gone but not forgotten’: Sequim club using modern Methods to Honor the dead

“George is gone but not forgotten,” reads the inscription on George W.… Continue reading

Volunteers sought for TAX-AIDE program

AARP TAX-AIDE is looking for new volunteers to prepare federal income tax… Continue reading

Halloween returns for Sequim

Drive-through, outdoor events held

Parenting In focus: Your little chef and tiny gardener

We have learned how much children change when they grow vegetables or… Continue reading

Learn about invasive insects at next Green Thumbs session

Get an update on invasive insects that may be in our area… Continue reading

Get It Growing: Four key principles of proper watering

Misunderstanding what is meant by proper watering is one of the most… Continue reading

Most Read