2014 primary, general elections taking shape

With the May 12-16 candidate filing week complete, voters in Clallam County have a clearer picture of what to expect for the Aug. 5 primary election.

With the May 12-16 candidate filing week complete, voters in Clallam County have a clearer picture of what to expect for the Aug. 5 primary election.

The ballot will include the Sixth Congressional District for the seat held by Derek Kilmer, who faces a trio of challengers, while State Rep. Steve Tharinger faces two opponents as he looks to retain his two-year seat and three candidates have filed to fill the position held by retiring county commissioner Mike Doherty.

Congressional, state spots

Kilmer, formerly of Port Angeles, faces Republican Marty McClendon of Gig Harbor, W. “Greybeard” McPherson (no party preference) of Port Angeles and Green Party candidate Douglas Milholland of Port Townsend.

Tharinger, a Democrat, faces Libertarian Party candidate Stafford A. Conway of Sequim and Republican Thomas W. Greisamer of Moclips in the race for Legislative District 24, State Representative Pos. 2.

Kevin Van De Wege, Tharinger’s fellow Democrat incumbent, is running unopposed, though both seats will appear on primary ballots.

County seats

Sissi Bruch of Port Angeles faces a pair of Forks residents to succeed Doherty for Clallam County commissioner District No. 3. Republican Bill Peach and Bryon D. Monohon (no party preference) are on the primary ballot. The race will appear only in District No. 3 in the primary but countywide for the general election.

Mark Nichols of Port Angeles challenges incumbent William Payne for Clallam County Prosecuting Attorney, a four-year term, in both primary and general elections.

Precinct races

Three precinct committee officer races will appear on ballots within their precincts. Bell Hill and Prairie South will vote on a Republican officer while Deer Park will elect a Democratic officer. All other precinct committee officers positions only had one candidate. Per state law, they are deemed elected and will receive a certificate from the county auditor.

The rest

Five charter review commissioners will be elected from each commissioner district for a one-year term in which they will review the county charter and propose any changes to the voters the following November.

All other contests and candidates are non-partisan and have fewer than three candidates. They only will appear on the General Election ballot in November. Contested offices/positions include: Clallam County auditor (Shoona Riggs and Kim Yacklin, both of Port Angeles); Clallam County Director of Community Development (incumbent Sheila Roark Miller of Sequim, Mary Ellen Winborn of Port Angeles) and District Court Judge Pos. 1 (Cathy Marshall of Sequim, incumbent Rick Porter of Port Angeles).

Unchallenged races include: Clallam County Assessor (incumbent Pamela Rushton); Clallam County Sheriff (incumbent Bill Benedict); Clallam County Treasurer (incumbent Selinda Barkhuis); Clallam Superior Court Judge Position 3 (incumbent Chris Melly); District Court Position 2 (incumbent John H. Doherty) and Public Utility District commissioner No. 2 (incumbent Hugh Haffner).