2022 Election: Primary contests set in Clallam County

Three contests will appear on the Aug. 2 primary ballot in Clallam County.

Both state representative seats in Legislative District 24 drew three contenders. District 24 includes Clallam and Jefferson counties and part of Grays Harbor County.

The Clallam County Director of Community Development (DCD) race has attracted four hopefuls.

Candidate filing week ended Friday for the Nov. 8 election. Races with more than two candidates will become primary contests, with the top-two primary election culling the hopefuls down to two who face each other in the November general election.

Incumbent Mike Chapman, a Port Angeles Democrat, and challengers Matthew Rainwater of Port Angeles and Sue Forde of Sequim, both Republicans, have filed for the District 24 Position 1 seat.

Incumbent Steve Tharinger, a Port Townsend Democrat, Darren Corcoran of Elma, also a Democrat, and Republican Brian Pruiett of Carlsborg have filed for the District 24 Position 2 seat.

The top post of the DCD, which will be vacated by Mary Ellen Winborn who is not running for re-election, has draw four contenders, all from Port Angeles: Bruce Emery, Cherie Kidd, Jesse Major and Kevin Russell.

Two-way countywide only contests that have formed for the November general election are:

• Incumbent Bill Peach of Forks and Mike French, Port Angeles City Council member, for the Clallam County Commission District 3 seat.

• Brian King of Port Angeles, and Marc Titterness of Sequim, for the Clallam County sheriff post now held by Bill Benedict, who is not seeking re-election.

• Incumbent Will Purser of Sequim and Key Hays of Sequim for a seat on the Clallam County Public Utility Commission.

Running without filed opposition are:

• Pamela Rushton, incumbent Clallam County assessor.

• Shoona Riggs, incumbent Clallam County auditor.

• Mark Nichols, incumbent Clallam County prosecuting attorney.

• Jennifer L. White, seeking the Clallam County treasurer position now held by Teresa Marchi.

• Dave Neupert, incumbent Clallam County District Court 1 judge.

• Bruce Hanify, incumbent Clallam County District Court 2 judge.

Six people are challenging U.S. Rep. Derek Kilmer of Gig Harbor, a Democrat, for the 6th Congressional District seat.

Seventeen people filed for the U.S. Senate seat now held by Sen. Patty Murray, a Seattle Democrat.

The deadline for candidate withdrawal is Monday.. The deadline for filing a write-in candidacy for the primary without paying a filing fee is July 14; for the Nov. 8 election, it is Oct. 20.

To see who has filed, and for other information, see clallam.net/Auditor/Elections.html.