Two Clallam Charter Review panel candidates withdraw

Names will remain on Nov. 5 ballot

Two candidates are exiting the packed race for 15 Clallam County Charter Review Commission seats.

Stephen Landess and Allen Coleman told Peninsula Daily News in recent emails that they will not serve on the commission if they are elected Nov. 5.

Their names will remain on the Nov. 5 ballot with 38 other candidates as required by state law, county elections supervisor Becky Pettigrew said Tuesday, Aug. 20.

She would not comment on whether other candidates have inquired about withdrawing from the general election ballot.

Five of the top vote getters among 38 remaining viable charter review commission candidates for seats representing Sequim-area Districts 1, Port Angeles-area District 2 and West End-Port Angeles-area District 3 can be selected for the 15-person board.

Not counting Landess, from District 1, and Coleman, from District 2, there are 10 candidates running for five District 1 seats, 17 for five District 2 positions and 11 for five District 3 seats.

Landess and Coleman notified Peninsula Daily News by email upon receiving PDN questionnaires for a general election voter guide.

Ballots will be mailed to 54,000 voters Oct. 16.

“Circumstances came up forcing me to withdraw from performing on Charter Review,” Landess said in his email.

“I withdrew my candidacy (through) PDC (state Public Disclosure Commission) but was too late to be removed through County Auditor’s office.”

Coleman said he wanted to inform voters of his withdrawal.

“I am not running in this race and will not serve,” he said in his email.

Charter Review Commission members serve one-year terms and recommend changes in the county charter that voters decide on as ballot measures.

Candidates on the ballot for District 1 seats, not including Landess, are Jim Stoffer, Ted Miller, Donald Hatler, Tony Corrado, David Lotzgesell, Gary DeKorte, Alex Fane, Sue Erzen, Candace Pratt and Judith Parker.

Candidates for District 2 seats, not including Coleman, are Steven Wyall, William Kildall, Ian Nickel, Jane Vanderhoof, Mary Doherty, Nick Spaeder, Patti Morris, Diane Haffner, Kraig Kyllo, Marolee D. Smith, Wendy Clark Getzin, Jerry T. Weider, Ron Cameron, Nina Richards, Norma E. Turner, Leya Heart and Elizabeth Adair.

Candidates for District 3 are Mike French, Lisa Unger, Don Corson, Brian Hunter, Kenneth P. Reandeau, Joseph Murray, Rod Fleck, Nina Sarmiento, Deborah (Deb) Cooke, Therese (Tree) Stokan and Andrew T. May.

More in News

What the ‘Safe Start’ plan looks like

Guidance and future plans listed

Sound Publishing offers grants to advertisers

Sound Publishing is launching a new program to help local companies spread… Continue reading

Faern Tait of Port Angeles shows off Valentina, a 10-year-old alpaca, at the 2019 Clallam County Fair. Officials have cancelled the 2020 fair with Clallam County not likely able to host large gatherings by mid-August. Sequim Gazette file photo by Michael Dashiell
Clallam County Fair cancelled for 2020

The livestock displays, rodeo, carnival, scones and more will have to wait… Continue reading

Expect delays along US Highway 101 near Sequim for repairs

Maintenance crews for the Washington State Department of Transportation look to take… Continue reading

State gives Clallam County approval for Phase 2

Washington State Secretary of Health John Wiesman has approved Clallam County’s request… Continue reading

Clallam County approves Phase 2 plan

Clallam County has approved a request to move into the next phase… Continue reading

Sequim High School Class of 2020 scholarship recipients

Congratulations to Sequim High School’s Class of 2020! Click on the… Continue reading

Subdued remembrances on Memorial Day

Deidre Magner, longtime groundskeeper for Sequim View Cemetery, raises the flag at… Continue reading

Habitat Clallam sets summer building class

Habitat for Humanity of Clallam County is hosting a seven-week class designed… Continue reading

Most Read