Football: Five Wolves named to all-league team

A quintet of Sequim football standouts were selected to the All-Olympic Team’s second team following the fall 2023 season, as announced by league coaches.

On offense, Sequim sophomore Liam Wiker picked for the second team as a running back. He had 106 yards in a 36-0 Homecoming win over North Mason on Nov. 13, and 101 yards in a 52-6 win at Kingston on Sept. 29. He rushed for 53 yards rushing and a touchdown in a loss to Port Angeles on Sept. 22.

SHS junior tight end Patrick Elias also earned an all-league second team selection; he had 52 yards receiving and a score against Kingston.

Jack Henninger twice broke the school record for longest field goal and earned an all-Olympic League second team selection. A college prospect at kicker, Henninger also booted a number of kickoffs for touchbacks during the season.

Sequim’s Ayden Holland earned his third all-league selection in as many seasons, selected a second team offensive lineman in 2023; he earned all-Olympic League first team honors at the position in 2021 and 2022.

Junior Brayden White was also named to the second team for his play on the offensive line, his first all-league selection.

Holland received the team’s sportsmanship award.

The young Sequim squad was 2-7 this season but see just three starters graduate in June.

North Kitsap receiver Logan Sloman was named the Olympic League MVP, his second consecutive league MVP honor. Bainbridge senior quarterback Jack Grant was named league Offensive MVP while Port Angeles linebacker Jason Hawes was named league Defensive MVP.

Port Angeles had eight players named to all-Olympic League teams, including a trio who earned double all-league selections: Hawes, for Defensive MVP and kink/punt returner (first team); Parker Nickerson, first team defensive back and second team quarterback; and Blake Sohlberg, first team wide receiver and second team defensive back.

Other all-leaguer Rider selections were first-teamers A.J. Martinez (punter) and Ezra Townsend (tight end), and second-teamers Tucker Rygaard (defensive line), Kason Albaugh (linebacker) and Landyn Jones (linebacker).