Pirates cap season in style

College honors players, coaches for back-to-back NWAACC championships

Sequim Gazette staff

They came to see the unveiling of a Pirate-themed sculpture celebrating their legacy, the proverbial icing on the cake of their seasons.


Then, they gobbled up some real cake and icing.


Peninsula College students and staff joined in celebrating the school’s soccer program at the college on Nov. 20, one of a series of accolades bestowed on the NWAACC’s first dual back-to-back championship teams.


The teams combined for a 41-2-2 record this fall and both finished the campaign ranked in the top 15 in the national junior college poll.


“Watching these two teams perform throughout the season and the tournament, they performed with grace under pressure,” Peninsula College president Luke Robbins said. “They exemplified what it means to be a team.”


The college last week presented the soccer players and coaches with a metallic sculpture made through one of the college’s programs.


“Eleven seasons — it’s taken a long time to get me to cry,” P.C. men’s soccer coach Andrew Chapman said, gesturing toward the sculpture. “This got me.”


Peninsula women’s coach Kanyon Anderson thanked the support both teams got from a solid fan base.

“One of the coolest things we get is the support we get from the community,” Anderson said.


Pirates pepper all-star lists as Afoa, Martinez win back-to-back MVPs

The West Division champion Pirates dominated the All-Star voting, placing eight women and eight men on the NWAACC South/West All-Star Teams, as announced Tuesday by the NWAACC.


Sophomore Bri Afoa was named Most Valuable Player for the south/west women’s divisions for the second consecutive season, and her counterpart on the men’s team, Alex Martinez, earned the MVP award for the men.


Afoa also was named as an all star forward. Joining her on the south/west women’s all star team are teammates Bronte Fitzsimmons (forward), midfielders Brenda Torres, Alyssa Bertuliet and Annie Armstrong, and defenders Shelbi Vienna-Hallam, Misty Kaiwi and Miranda Sochacki.


Martinez was honored both as an MVP and all star forward for the Pirate men. He is joined by forward Ash Apollon, midfielders Erick Urzua and Kalei Gallarde, defenders Mark Cottrell, Lachlan Bond and Zac Newton, and goalkeeper Angel Guerra.


Despite leading their respective squads to undefeated conference records, Peninsula coaches Andrew Chapman (men) and Kanyon Anderson (women) were left off the West Region All-Star squads. Instead, head coaches from the second-place Highline women’s and men’s team were named West Region Coaches of the Year.


Because the Pirate squads qualified for NWAACC titles games on Nov. 17, they did not play in the conference all star game held earlier that day.