Sequim Junior Fastpitch qualifies for state

Sequim Little League’s Juniors All-Star fastpitch squad is moving onto state.

They defeated East Jefferson in two games — 28-11 and 19-9 — on June 25 at the Dr. James Standard Memorial Park.

Sequim hosted nine All-Star fastpitch teams for District 2 ages 8-14 from Sequim to Gig Harbor to Bainbridge Island, said Sequim Little League president Nick Simpson.

Sequim’s junior fastpitch squad, ages 12-14, plays at the state tournament on July 6 in Everett.

The team includes Leila Anderson, Rhyen Bidasha, Abby Brown, Rylie Doig, Nevaeh Owens, Abby Pedrey, Ava Ritter, Rilynn Whitehead, Lessie Wilke, Kiley Winter, and Sasha Yada.

They’re coached by Derek Sanderson, Cody Owens and Mariah Sanderson.

Sequim Little League’s All-Star teams, ages 8-10, played districts in Port Orchard on June 26 (results were unavailable by press time), and the Juniors (10-12) play in Poulsbo on July 1.

For information about Sequim Little League, visit